Gujarat Election: Congress Releases First List Of 43 Candidates

New Delhi: Congress on Friday released its first list of 43 candidates ahead of the Gujarat Assembly elections.

According to the list, former Gujarat Congress chief Arjun Modhwadiya has been fielded from Porbandar, Himanshu Patel from Gandhinagar South, Hiteshbhai Vora from Rajkot South and former Union Minister Bharat Solanki from Gandhidham.

Earlier during the day, party president Mallikarjun Kharge chaired a meeting of the Congress central election committee (CEC) during which several candidates for the upcoming assembly polls were finalised.

Former Congress chief Sonia Gandhi joined the meeting online, while the rest of the participants attended it physically at the AICC headquarters in New Delhi.

It is to be noted that CEC members and party general secretaries Mukul Wasnik and K C Venugopal, besides Mohsina Kidwai, Girija Vyas and Ambika Soni, were among those present at the meeting.

All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge for Gujarat Raghu Sharma and the Congress state unit chief, Jagdish Thakor, also took part in the meeting.